...
you're reading...
Acupressure, Acupuncture, Autogenics, Biofeedback, Chiropractor, Exercise, Journals, Lifestyle Alterations, Massage, Medication, Meditation, Migraine Diet, Physical Therapy, Sleep, Supplements, Symptoms, Yoga

The Top 10 Headache Treatments, Solutions, Cures.

Ok, I’m going to give you WAAAAY more than ten. But honestly, people like top 10 lists. Did you get here because you googled that? No? It’s ok. I tried.

Anyhoo, I feel fairly qualified to talk about this because I’ve gone through quite a few treatments. From prescription medications to alternative therapies, there are SO many.

So… I know in the headline I said solutions, but what I’ve learned over the years… not one thing will solve your headaches (I mean it might, but you’d be lucky). However, a compilation of many things will help. Most of these are very valuable options and many have been scientifically proven to work for migraineurs. If I were you (and if I was me… which I am) I would think of these as just another gadget in your arsenal of tools.

I personally believe there are three types of “treatments”:

  1. Medications & Western Medical Treatments
  2. Alternative Therapies & Eastern Medicine
  3. Lifestyle Alterations & Additions

Within these categories, there are many options. This is where my “Top Ten” will come in– Don’t worry, I didn’t forget about that part. Mind you, each category has 11… you get a bonus one.

Lifestyle Alterations
& Additions
Medications & Western
Medical Treatments
Alternative Therapies
& Eastern Medicine
  1. Check your eyesight
  2. Check for grinding teeth
  3. Make a food journal
  4. Keep a headache journal
  5. Monitor sleep habits
  6. Migraine Diet: Foods to Avoid / Foods to Eat
  7. Posture / Aergonomics
  8. Toxic House (mold, cleaners, lead, allergens, etc)
  9. Exercise
  10. ICE your neck & head
  11. Keeping your “second” brain busy
  1. Over the Counter Drugs (OTC)
  2. Preventative Medication
  3. Relief / Attack Medication
  4. MRIs/ CT Scans
  5. Physical Therapy
  6. Anti-Depressants
  7. Experimental Treatments
  8. Botox
  9. Occipital Nerve Blocks
  10. Biofeedback
  11. Autogenics
  1. Meditation
  2. Yoga
  3. Acupuncture
  4. Acupressure
  5. Massage & Cranial Sacral-Therapy
  6. Supplements, Vitamins, Natural Remedies, Chinese Herbs
  7. Chiropractor
  8. Rolfing
  9. Sophrology
  10. Reiki
  11. Aromatherapy

As this blog continues to grow, I write about each of these and go into detail about that specific topic. It will probably take me a while, but feel free to reach out to me with any questions you might have if I haven’t written on a topic.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

This site is not in any way qualified to dole out medical care and/or advice. Always chat with your doctor for any and all medications, information, treatments, advice, or general questions about your own pain issues. All the text on this site is my personal perspective and my own experience with chronic pain. You should not use it as a substitute for professional care. That would just be silly.

"Damn it Jim, I'm a writer, not a doctor." ~ if you don't know who this reference is too... you've just proven I'm getting old. Thanks. :)